Knights of Rizal


The Order of the Knights of Rizal is a fraternal and cultural organization created to honor and uphold the ideals of Philippine national hero Jose Rizal. Established on December 30, 1911, the organization was granted a legislative charter by the President of the Philippines as a civic and patriotic organization on 14 June 1951 by Republic Act 646. The Republic act 646 was sponsored by Congressman Manuel Zosa of Cebu and was signed into law by President Elpidio Quirino. It was founded by Colonel Antonio C. Torres who would later serve as the first Filipino Chief of Police of Manila.It is characterized not only as a civic and patriotic but also as cultural, non-sectarian, non-partisan and non-racial organization as well.

Since its founding, the Order has grown to over 10,000 members belonging to over fifteen chapters located in several countries around the world including Australia, Bahrain, Belgium, France (four Chapters), Czech Republic, Germany, Thailand,  Spain and the United States. Its international headquarters is located along Bonifacio Drive, Port Area, Manila.

The insignia of the Knights of Rizal is authorized for wearing by the diplomatic corps of the Republic of the Philippines. It ranks as lowest of the Philippine orders of merit. The Order was included in the "Amtskalender" of the Federal Republic of Germany.